Think Kit #5: Scratch & Sniff

Scents have the power to take us all kinds of places. What smell takes you somewhere else? Where’d you go?

There is a smell to summer where I live. I don’t know what flowers or weather produce it, nor do I know any better way to describe it. The scent of summer simply is.

What it inspires in me, however, can be put into words. I feel cleaner. I feel as though the weight of all of life’s burdens is but another splash in the pond. Summer’s scent reminds me that the world is older than anything I can reckon.

I remember playground games and schoolyard friends. I recall the child I used to be, and the anxiety in his heart. But more than anything else, I am impressed with a feeling of tranquility. I understand how far I’ve walked. I know how much I’ve changed.

And I am reassured that the next summer will come, as they have for millennia.

Leave a comment